Time to prove that it’s more than novelty

Today is the first day of week 2 of my new running regime. It’s also the start of a heavy work week, so this week will really test both my resolve and my limits.

The alarm went off at 5:30am after a crappy night’s sleep. I got out of bed at 5:45, had a cup of tea, and got myself out of the door by 6am. My earliest run yet (*whoops without enthusiasm*).

Time being of the essence this morning, I cut my route a little to accommodate just the Runtastic training session, without walking to make the distance up to 5km. I selected session 6 from the training programme and set off: 3 minutes running, 1 minute walking, for 32 minutes – easier intervals than yesterday, but a longer session. It was ok, although my body resisted the first couple of run intervals – no burn though, just a desire to still be in bed and to be able to stay there for a few more hours. Impossible, regardless of the run.

The nice thing is, as I’m sat on a train into town, I’ve burned 60% of all the calories I plan on eating today already. I’ve reduced my target calorie deficit for this week as I know that the next 5 days are likely to be long and hard – hard cutting will only make it harder and more likely that I’ll break and binge on something sugary and delicious but macro-busting in a moment of tiredness induced weakness. This extra dose of calories gives me the room to snack (sensibly), throughout the day, as I need to.

Wondering how I’ll feel at the other end of the day. It could likely be a 13hr workday. I wonder if I’ll have enough energy to get out the door again tomorrow. 

Session stats:

  • Distance: 4.66 km
  • Total time: 34m 15s
  • Fastest km: 6:51
  • Slowest km: 9:56
  • Average pace: 7:21 (PB)
  • Weather: 5 degrees, cloudy but dry
Leave a Reply

