Ok, now I get the early morning run thing

I did it! The alarm went off at 6am, I hit snooze until 6:15am, and then dragged myself out of bed and into my running gear. I downed up a cup of tea, plugged in my earphones and set off. It was FREEZING. There was crunchy frosted dew on the grass, and the car was crispy and glittery. Thankfully, I was wearing a hat and scarf otherwise I think it would have been unbearable. Thanks to the clocks moving forward, it was light in that soft, early morning kind of way. The best part was that it was quiet – hardly anyone about, light traffic – it was so peaceful. Today I was using session three of the Runtastic training plan: 2 minutes running, two minutes walking, for 30 minutes. Those two-minute run intervals started to burn quite quickly, my legs feeling really stiff from the last two days. The burn eased after about 20 minutes, but it wasn’t easy – I had to really push myself to keep going. I was glad when the session came to an end. I was about 1km from home, and by then the light was getting a little warmer, and the day seemed like it was starting to warm up. I got home, had breakfast and got ready for work, managing to get everything done much faster than normal.

Having only had 6 hours sleep, in order to make time for the run, I was expecting the early morning run to cause an energy crash part way through the afternoon, but actually found I had more energy throughout the day than normal. But, boy, was I hungry!

So, early morning run – not easy to get out of bed, but worth the trouble for the peaceful surroundings to run through. I wonder if I can do the same tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

