Just because you did it once doesn’t mean you’ll do it again

I woke up with stiff legs from yesterday’s run. It took a while to get my body moving and to stop walking like an old lady. To add insult to injury I also woke up with stomach cramps, deep, painful cramps that travelled down my legs and made them feel like lead. I took paracetamol and then, because it was raining, I started working my way through my to-do list. By the time I had come back from a hospital appointment in the afternoon, the cramps were still defying the paracetamol, but the day was evaporating so I pushed my feet into my trainers and then out of the door. I have come to the conclusion that if you want to make something a habit, you have to do it every day, no matter what. If you don’t do it every day, you give yourself the room to not do it today. If you think “not today, I’ll do it tomorrow” then you’ll always put it off until tomorrow, and it’ll never get done today.

I selected the second training session from the Runtastic ‘Run 30 mins after 6 weeks training’ plan. This is 25 minutes of run for 1 minute, walk for 1 minute, run for 2 minutes, walk for one minute. The first interval of running for 2 minutes came as a bit of a shock, and towards the end the training session, they were starting to burn a little. At the end of the 25 minutes, I was around 3.5km through my route, so I walked the last 1.5km. Amazingly, the cramps had gone away – it was as though the run had eased the spasming muscles, and maybe the dopamine that exercise releases into the brain had acted as a natural painkiller too. I got back home feeling good.

Now, a couple of hours later, my legs are so stiff! I have to work on site tomorrow, needing to leave home at 8:30am, so I’ve laid out clothes to run in, filled my water bottle, and left everything ready for heading out for a run at 6:30am. So far so good. I hope I manage to drag myself out of bed in the morning.

Leave a Reply

